Planning and Zoning Commission

  • The Planning and Zoning Commission duties include preparing and adopting a master plan for the physical development of the municipality, including any areas outside its boundaries, subject to the approval of the governmental body. The master plan of a municipality shall be an advisory document to guide land development decisions. The planning commission reviews and decides upon variance requests, planned development and other zoning issues and regulations. Full duties and responsibilities are specified in Parts 2 and 3 of Article 23, of Title 31, C.R.S.
  • The Planning and Zoning Commission consist of five (5) regular members appointed by the Board of Trustees. Statutorily (Parts 2 and 3 of Article 23, of Title 31, C.R.S.) all commissioners are required to reside within town limits. Neither the Mayor nor any member of the Board of Trustees can serve on the Planning and Zoning Commission. The Board of Trustees may appoint up to two (2) alternate members of the Planning and Zoning Commission. Alternate members can attend all P&Z meetings and participate in the discussion, yet they have no voting rights on any matters before the P&Z unless a regular member of the P&Z is absent or unable to vote on the matter. Terms are three (3) years.
  • Planning and Zoning Commission guiding documents: Town of Buena Vista Unified Development Code, Town of Buena Vista Comprehensive Plan.
  • The Planning and Zoning Commission meets at 7:00 PM on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at the Community Center (715 East Main Street). 
  • Please email the Planning Department with any questions.

2023 Town of Buena Vista Planning and Zoning Commission Meeting Schedule

Wednesday, January 4, 2023*
Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Wednesday, February 1, 2023
Wednesday, February 15, 2023
Wednesday, March 1, 2023
Wednesday, March 15, 2023
Wednesday, April 8, 2023
Wednesday, April 19, 2023
Wednesday, May 3, 2023
Wednesday, May 17, 2023
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
Wednesday, June 21, 2023
Wednesday, July 5, 2023
Wednesday, July 19, 2023
Wednesday, August 2, 2023
Wednesday, August 16, 2023
Wednesday, September 6, 2023
Wednesday, September 20, 2023
Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Wednesday, November 1, 2023
Wednesday, November 15, 2023
Wednesday, December 6, 2023
Wednesday, December 20, 2023*

*May be cancelled due to holidays